Merry Xmas from the Alps

Been a bit quiet on the blog updates recently mainly because I’ve been skiing so much! The weather’s calmed down a bit over the last few days but a week or so ago there was more powder than a Colombian submarine. Skied some brilliant stuff and thanks to my new ski bum pal Miss Flossie Cockle who I’ve been skiing with loads and she’s also been feeding me and letting me shower!

Life in the van continues to be challenging but fun. The heater chose the coldest night so far to pack up – in fact I think it was just too cold for it – it was -18C. Took me about an hour to get up in the morning!

As for conditions the snow’s been dumping but there’s been a lot of wind and it’s struggled to settle which is making for some strange snow conditions: build ups and cross loading in the gullies but scoured ridges and plateaus. The ice is building up in the La Grave valley but it’s still quite thin or maybe I’ve just turned into a bit of a conditions snob now that I’m living out here! We went for a ski tour the other day as well which was good fun though had to turn around about 300 metres from the top as the weather came in. I’ve learnt the hard way in the Alps that if you can’t see the summit then sometimes it’s best not to go for it!

Here’s a few pics. Hope you had a good xmas and have a happy New Year.

3 thoughts on “Merry Xmas from the Alps

  1. Lee

    Looks like you are having a great time and good to see you have found a shower! Cant wait to hit the slopes will see you in a few weeks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

