Backcountry in Mount Aspiring National Park, New Zealand

This blog is about celebrating adventure and sharing a little bit of information on the amazing places that I get to visit and ski. How happy was I then when my best friend, who emigrated from the UK to Australia a few years ago, announced that he was getting married. As soon as the congratulations were dispensed, my brain turned to thinking about how I could combine that with a trip to New Zealand to catch the tail end of the ski season! I’d been to New Zealand before and I knew exactly where I wanted to go: back to the beautiful town of Wanaka, nestled in the heart of Mount Aspiring National Park. This town is probably one of my favourite places in the whole world, after La Grave, of course.

I’ll let the pictures do the talking, but here’s a few shots of skiing at Treble Cone (including the Motatapu Chutes) and a trip to Brewster Hut to try and ski the West Face of Mount Brewster (far too windy for the snow pack) and a day’s climbing at Hospital Flats, just out of Wanaka.

Leave a Reply

